Dare to You by Katie McGarry: ARC Review

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk's home life, they'd send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom's freedom and her own happiness. That's how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn't want her and going to a school that doesn't understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn't get her, but does...


Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can't tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn't be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won't let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all...


You may remember Beth as one of the supporting characters in Pushing the Limits, now it is her turn to share her story.

Beth is still living with her aunt Shirley, along with Noah and Issah. Her alcoholic mother still needs taking care of, something Beth believes is her responsibility. She still spends her life looking for her next high, how else can she dull her pain and let others get close to her. There is far more to Beth than the rough, foul mouthed girl we seen in Pushing the Limits.

When Beth gets a phone call from the local bar to come and collect her mother... Again, her life reaches a whole new level of numbness when her mother forces her to take the blame for destruction of her abusive boyfriends vehicle. Bailed out of prison by her once absent uncle Scott, Beth is forced under his care. It means leaving Issah and Noah, and no longer being able to care for her strung out mother.

Scott, the young uncle that once vowed he would never abandon her, is back and wants Beth to have the privileged life she would never have been afforded. Ryan is one of the privileged and popular kids. Smart, sexy and a gifted baseball playing athlete. He meets Beth by means of a dare, and when she storms into his world, he doesn't have a change in he'll against the smart mouthed girl from the other side of the tracks.

Not nearly as engaging as Pushing the Limits, but still entertaining and touching. You will warm to Beth and discover there is far more to her character than at first glance. Ryan is engaging but his lack of back bone is frustrating. This book carries on the series theme of two people being complete opposites, finding hope in what looked like a bleak future. Recommended for fans of Echo and Noah, and the third and final book in the series will be Issah's story.

Goodreads
Dare To You
(Pushing The Limits: Book Two)
Written By Katie McGarry

Expected Publication 01 / 06 / 2013
304 Pages 
ARC Courtesy of Netgalley

Post a comment

© Diva Booknerd. Design by Fearne.