The Ever After

The Ever After
The Omte Origins Book Three
Check of my Omte Origins reviews here
Written by Amanda Hocking
Fantasy, Magic, Paranormal, Romance
Published January 12th 2021
416 Pages
Thank you to Pan Macmillan Australia
Add to Goodreads

Welcome to a world in the shadow of our own, a fairytale land where the dangers are real. In The Ever After, the final book in the Omte Origins trilogy, Amanda Hocking creates an epic adventure in her much loved Trylle universe.

Ulla Tulin has lost a month of memories. Her journey to uncover her past led her to a mysterious sect and a man claiming to be her father. But Ulla's forgotten their reunion and fears something terrible happened. Determined to recall the truth, Ulla risks her life to battle the enchantments that bind her. And she finally opens the bridge to Alfheim, the lost First City.

Ulla knows this will unleash a tide of monstrous creatures upon the Earth. But she also knows she has no choice and must gather a Trylle army in time to face them. Or could her own buried heritage be the key to victory?

Ullaakuut Tulin has returned home, held captivate by the Ă„lvolk and although she scarcely remembers her ordeal, is experiencing the trauma of being tortured. Ulla, her friends and colleagues from the Merellä metropolis searched for the First City, a mythical city beyond the bridge that connects the realms between Ulla's world and those of the ancients. 

The Omte Origins series has been a whirlwind adventure, a gentle romance, unlikely and tentative friendships and alliances and I've loved every moment. The reader is first introduced to Ulla as a somewhat naive and unsuspecting young woman. She knows little about the world beyond her village and her kindness and inquisitive nature is completely endearing. Throughout the series, Ulla embarks on a journey to find her family, abandoned as an infant with an elderly couple to raise. Along the way, Ulla begins to rely upon her found family, namely Dagny and Pan and although is determined to search for her parents, it soon becomes apparent that all hell is on the verge of breaking loose and Ulla will find herself faced with impossible decisions, while struggling to remember her capture. 

One of my favourite aspects of the series are the reoccurring characters from series' set within the Trylle kingdoms, the series can be read as a standalone but the familiar faces are wonderful. Wendy and Finn from the original Trylle Trilogy and Bryn and Ridley from the brilliant Kanin Chronicles. Each series featuring strong and fearless female characters in positions of power and authority. Although each typically fall in love, these are heroines who don't need a male character to complete them, they're their own saviours. 

In the Omte Origins series, we hear more about the origins of the trolls and their Scandinavian heritage, their history tightly woven among the Viking folklore. The mythology and legends of children's fairytales coming to life was beautiful and I hope it might lead the way to future series' set within this magical world.

It's been quite a while since a series has captivated me so entirely and that's one of my favourite aspects of Amanda Hocking's writing. They're entertaining, mesmerising reads. Being back in the Trylle world was lovely and although the Omte Origins series features an entirely new community of troll, characters and storylines, it was comforting to be back in a world I was familiar with. The Ever After, the final Omte Origins instalment is wonderfully adventurous, a beautiful exploration of folklore and culture, of lost cities and found family.

© Diva Booknerd. Design by Fearne.