Wednesday, 23 July 2014

The Protected by Claire Zorn

1 comment:
The Protected
Written by Claire Zorn
Contemporary, Coming of Age, Death
Published July 23rd 2014
264 Pages
Thank you to UQP 
I have three months left to call Katie my older sister. Then the gap will close and I will pass her. I will get older. But Katie will always be fifteen, eleven months and twenty one days old.

Hannah's world is in pieces and she doesn't need the school counselor to tell her she has deep seated psychological issues. With a seriously depressed mum, an injured dad and a dead sister, who wouldn't have problems?

Hannah should feel terrible but for the first time in ages, she feels a glimmer of hope and isn't afraid anymore. Is it because the elusive Josh is taking an interest in her? Or does it run deeper than that?

In a family torn apart by grief and guilt, one girl's struggle to come to terms with years of torment shows just how long old wounds can take to heal.

Sweet Damage by Rebecca James

No comments:
Sweet Damage
Written by Rebecca James
Thriller, Romance, Mystery
Published April 1st 2013
336 Pages
'I still dream about Anna London's house. In my dreams it's as if the house itself has sinister intentions. But in real life it wasn't the house that was responsible for what happened. It was the people who did the damage...'

When Tim Ellison finds a cheap room to rent in the perfect location in Sydney it looks like a huge stroke of luck. In fact the room comes with a condition, and the owner of the house, the mysterious Anna London, is unfriendly and withdrawn. When strange and terrifying things start happening in the house at night, Tim wonders if taking the room is a mistake. But then his feelings for Anna start to change, and when her past comes back with a vengeance, Tim is caught right in the middle of it.

A thrilling rollercoaster of a story, read it with the lights on!

The Special by David Stavanger

1 comment:
The Special
Written by David Stavanger
Published July 23rd 2014
96 Pages
Thank you to UQP 
Both fun and playful, Stavanger’s poems display wit and beguiling originality. They shift from the oddball to the vulnerable and from the zany to the deeply meditative.

Stavanger’s collection embodies a spirit of the post post modern in both intellect and spark, while playing off cool disjunctions against electrifying erudition. There is a strong trace of the performative and dramatic in these poems, Stavanger’s flair for performance poetry gives this award winning collection a distinct and likeable flavour.

Monday, 21 July 2014

Roses Are Blue by Sally Murphy and Illustrated by Gabriel Evans


Roses Are Blue
Written by Sally Murphy, Illustrated by Gabriel Evans
Children's, Poetry, Diversity
Published July 1st 2014
112 Pages
With thanks to Walker Books Australia
Add to Goodreads
Look out for my interview with Sally on July 26th
"I have not got used to my new mum, even though I love her (I absolutely love her) but I miss my happy, painting, dancing, gardening, smiling mum."
Amber Rose and her family are dealing with tragedy and change. But sometimes hope suddenly blooms...

From the award-winning author of Pearl Verses the World and Toppling comes a story about resilience and the importance of family